In 1973, Midland’s Open Door started with the mission to share the hope and freedom found in Christ with the relationally and spiritually poor. Today, more than 40 years later, the door remains open, welcoming the vulnerable and distressed and providing meaningful help in the form of food, shelter and clothing, and lasting hope through healthy supportive relationships.

Scripture outlines God’s rich compassion and concern for both the spiritually and materially poor. In a rather unique way, the ministry of Midland’s Open Door provides a platform for the daily demonstration of the gospel of Christ.

Found in the self-giving love of Christ, scripture demonstrates that caring for the needs of the materially poor gives evidence of true faith (Acts 9:36, 10:4; Romans 15:26; Galatians 2:10). Faith and good works are no longer isolated (James 2:14-18) but are joined to punctuate the glorious grace of the gospel, daily shaping our response to our brothers and sisters in need.

By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers. But if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need, yet closes his heart against him, how does God’s love abide in him? Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth. I John 3:16-18

With overwhelming biblical hospitality, we aim to demonstrate the hope of Christ from the very moment a man, women or child walks through our door. When this is combined with the consistent support and encouragement of healthy relationships that reflect the heart of Christ, transformation begins.

OUR FACILITIES

Midland’s Open Door has two locations to serve our neighbors in need. Our main campus at 412 W Buttles Street houses our men’s shelter, soup kitchen, clothing ministry and administrative offices. Our E Chippewa River Road property houses our women and children’s shelter.

OUR MISSION

The life-transforming power of the gospel of Christ calls us to walk with the homeless, hungry and hurting; modeling God’s love through biblical hospitality and supportive services.

OUR VISION

Every man, woman and child that God brings to our door experiences the life-transforming power of the Gospel of Christ, learns to enjoy God, uses their unique gifts to serve others, and leads a godly, interdependent life

OUR TEAM

Renee Pettinger, Executive Director – renee.pettinger@midlandopendoor.org

Rebecca Jones, Program Director and Therapist – rebecca.jones@midlandopendoor.org

Bob Marsh, Outreach and Operations Coordinator – bob.marsh@midlandopendoor.org 

Meredith Sweet, Ministry Support Coordinator – meredith.sweet@midlandopendoor.org

Kathy Drew, Women and Children’s Shelter Coordinator – kathy.drew@midlandopendoor.org

Victoria Bantau, Soup Kitchen Coordinator – victoria.bantau@midlandopendoor.org